Home MusicCharticles Doja Cat achieves her first-ever UK number-one single with “Paint the Town Red”

Doja Cat achieves her first-ever UK number-one single with “Paint the Town Red”

by Jonathan Currinn
6 minutes read Send a Virtual Coffee ☕

Doja Cat tops UK chart by securing her very first UK number-one single on the UK Official Singles Chart with the infectious track “Paint the Town Red”. This is certainly a significant milestone in her career. This achievement comes after an impressive five-week climb on the chart, where the song surpassed its previous peak of number two, dethroning Olivia Rodrigo’s chart-topping hit, “vampire”, in the process.

Doja Cat’s presence in the UK charts has been steadily growing, with a total of 15 Top 40 singles to her name. Notable successes include the disco-infused “Say So”, which reached number two in 2020, the collaboration with SZA on “Kiss Me More,” which peaked at number three in 2021, and the hit single “You Right” featuring The Weeknd, reaching number nine.

Watch the music video to “Paint the Town Red” here:

What makes “Paint the Town Red” even more remarkable is its clever use of a sample from Dionne Warwick’s 1964 classic pop standard, “Walk On By”, which had originally peaked at number nine in the UK. This clever interpolation adds a nostalgic touch to Doja Cat’s modern sound.

This ascent to the top comes after facing stiff competition from artists like Dua Lipa, Billie Eilish, and Olivia Rodrigo, making Doja Cat’s achievement all the more impressive. Female empowerment shining through!

Unlikely to be the last time Doja Cat tops UK chart

This success couldn’t have come at a better time, as Doja Cat’s new album, “Scarlet”, is set to drop on 22 September 2023. Highly anticipated, the album also features tracks such as “Attention” and “Demon”, promising a musical journey that fans won’t want to miss.

“Paint the Town Red” was released on 4 August 2023, as the lead single from Doja Cat’s upcoming fourth studio album. In this hip-hop and jazz-fused track, she skillfully samples “Walk On By” by Dionne Warwick over a smooth beat. The song’s lyrics reflect on Doja Cat’s experiences with those who criticized her for her changing appearance, delivering a powerful message of self-expression.

“She a rebel, She put her foot to the pedal, It’ll take a whole lot for me to settle”

Doja Cat – Paint the Town Red lyrics

The title “Paint the Town Red” is an American slang expression, signifying a wild and extravagant night out. It’s a metaphor often used for lively and memorable moments, much like the song itself.

In addition to her latest achievement, here’s a look at some of Doja Cat’s highest-peaking tracks on the Official UK Singles Chart:

  • “Juicy” in collaboration with Tyga (80)
  • “Say So” (2)
  • “Boss Bitch” (24)
  • “Like That” featuring Gucci Mane (62)
  • “To Be Young” by Anne-Marie featuring Doja Cat (74)
  • “Baby, I’m Jealous” by Bebe Rexha featuring Doja Cat (86)
  • “Motive” by Ariana Grande & Doja Cat (16)
  • “Best Friend” by Saweetie featuring Doja Cat (35)
  • “Streets” (12)
  • “Kiss Me More” featuring SZA (3)
  • “Need to Know” (11)
  • “Ain’t Shit” (26)
  • “You Right” in collaboration with The Weeknd (9)
  • “Woman” (13)
  • “Get Into It (Yuh)” (41)
  • “Freaky Deaky” in collaboration with Tyga (35)
  • “I Like You (A Happier Song)” Post Malone featuring Doja Cat (19)
  • “Vegas” (24)
  • “Attention” (37)
  • Demons” (53)
  • “Dick” by Starboi3 featuring Doja Cat (74)

Doja Cat’s impressive chart history in the UK reflects her growing popularity and her ability to create music that resonates with a wide audience. As she continues to evolve as an artist, “Paint the Town Red” serves as a testament to her talent and enduring appeal.

Follow Doja Cat on social media below:

Let us know your thoughts on Doja Cat claiming this week’s number one single on the Official UK Singles Charts with “Paint the Town Red” by sharing this article on social media and tagging us @GoodStarVibes.

Virtual Coffee

Buy the Good Star Vibes team a virtual coffee.

You may also like

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.